39th (Dorsetshire) Regiment of Foot

United Kingdom
1689.03.08 Viscount Lisburne's Regiment of Foot
1692.02.01 Richard Coote's Regiment of Foot
1697 disbanded in England
1702.08.29 Richard Coote's Regiment of Foot
re-formed in Ireland without lineal connection to previous regiment; also known until 1751 by the names of ten other colonels
1751.07.01 39th Regiment of Foot
1782.08.31 39th (East Middlesex) Regiment of Foot
1795 absorbed 104th Regiment of Foot (Royal Manchester Volunteers)
1807.10.29 39th (Dorsetshire) Regiment of Foot
"Dorsetshire" title belonged 1782-1807 to 35th Foot; "East Middlesex" title passed to 77th Foot
1881.07.01 amalgamated with 54th Foot to form The Dorsetshire Regiment


Plassey, [Gibraltar 1779-83]1, Albuhera, Vittoria, Pyrenees, Nivelle, Nive, Orthes, Peninsula, Maharajpore, Sevastopol 1. the Castle and Key badge superscribed "Gibraltar 1779-83" and subscribed quot;Montis Insignia Calpe" (dates added 1909).

Note: see also The Dorset Regiment for belatedly awarded battle honours.

Uniform: coat: scarlet. lapels and cuffs: grass green, turnbacks: grass green, lacings: white with thick green grass wavy line
1689.03.08 Adam (Loftus), 1st Viscount Lisburne
1692.02.01 Col. Richard Coote
1702.02.12 Col. Richard Coote
1703.03.17 Lt-Gen. Nicholas Sankey
1719.03.11 Brig-Gen. Thomas Ferrers [also 23rd Dgns, 17th Foot, Ferrers's Foot]
1722.09.28 Brig-Gen. William Newton
1730.11.10 Lt-Gen. Sir John Cope, KB [also 5th Foot]
1732.12.15 Lt-Gen. Thomas Wentworth [also 24th Foot]
1737.06.27 Gen. John (Campbell), 4th Duke of Argyll, KT [also 21st Foot]
1738.11.01 Lt-Gen. Richard Onslow [also 8th Foot]
1739.06.06 Col. Robert Dalway
1740.12.28 Brig-Gen. Samuel Walter Whitshed
1743.06.14 Maj-Gen. Edward Richbell [also 17th Foot, 61st Foot]
1752.03.14 Lt-Gen. John Aldercron
1766.08.06 Gen. Sir Robert Boyd, KB
1794.07.02 Gen. Nisbett Balfour [also 93rd Foot [1780-83, 1793-97]
1823.10.28 Lt-Gen. Sir George Airey, KCH
1833.03.04 Lt-Gen. Hon. Sir Robert William O'Callaghan, GCB [also 97th Foot]
1840.06.15 Gen. Sir Frederick Philipse Robinson, GCB [also 59th Foot; Gov. Tobago 1816-27]
1852.02.11 Lt-Gen. George Burrell, CB
1853.01.17 Gen. Sir Richard Lluellyn, KCB
1867.12.08 Gen. Sir Charles Thomas van Straubenzee, GCB [also 47th Foot]
Mottos: Primus in Indis
Nicknames: Sankey's Horse, The Green Linnets
Anniversaries: Plassey (23 Jun 1757), Sarah Sands (11 Nov 1857)
Miscellaneous Tradition Links: